Celebrating Canada 150 Poetry Contest Winners…

How the poetry winners were chosen:

  • The judges chose the top 10 in each age category. Poems were examined for creativity, theme and poetic form.
  • All names were then put in a draw. The first name drawn received 1st prize, the second name drawn 2nd prize and the 3rd name drawn 3rd prize.
  • Each prize winner received a Talewind Books gift certificate, a Friends of the Sechelt Library book sale gift certificate, a journal and pen.

PHOTO & Prizes will be awarded at 3:30pm on Friday, April 21

 Prize Winners

Congratulations to:

Children’s Category – no entries this year

Youth Category  (12 – 17 years old)

First – Hunter Holmes

Second – Alex Spencer

Third – Nolan McKenna

Adult Category (18+ years)

First – Jan McKenna

Second – Sheri Marino

Third – June Meyer

 Runners up

(in alphabetical order)

 Congratulations to:

Children’s Category – no entries this year

Youth Category (12 – 17 years old)

Alexandra Stringer-Holden

Callum Goss

Georgia Nichols

Madison Tidmarsh

Maggie Harvey

Mallory Haslett

Olivia Lane

Adult Category (18+ years)

Andrea-Lee Smith

Anne Foster

Kevin McKenna

Michael Taylor

Maria Sturgeon

Philip Jagger

Ralph Meyer