Complete List of Databases (A-Z)
Below is a list of the websites the library pays for containing resources often not found free 0n the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log in and while you can use most of them from home, there are a few that can only be accessed in the library.
Ancestry Library Edition (In-library use only) Ancestry provides genealogical and historical research capabilities. With more than 5 billion names in over 4,600 databases, includes census, military, court, land, and probate records; vital and church records; directories; and passenger lists. For more information see Teresa’s guide to Using Ancestry Library Edition. ***While the library is closed, ProQuest and its partner Ancestry have temporarily expanded this service to library cardholders working remotely. Please call the library (604-885-3260) for instructions on how to access this resource. Once you have your access credentials, please click here.***
BC Laws – Free public access to the Statutes & Regulations of B.C.
British Columbia Codes – Includes the current BC Building Code (including Plumbing Services) and the BC Fire Code.
British Columbia Statistics – Statistics on population, business, the economy, labour and society. From BCStats, the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia.
Access 2006 Census full (31 page) profiles or any item with a “key” icon beside it is available here. (Note: Remote access is permitted if your library can provide authentication.)
Business Plan Handbooks – A compilation of business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America. Access is made possible by the Small Business Accelerator at the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre at UBC with financial support from the Sutherland Foundation.
Canadian Encyclopedia – A comprehensive information source about Canada and Canadians, for students, the general public and scholars. Includes articles written by experts, as well as web links and multimedia clips. The web site also includes links to the Youth Encyclopedia of Canada and Encyclopedia of Music in Canada. No library card is required to access these resources on the Internet.
CELA – Centre for Equitable Library Access (Restricted to patrons with print disability) – Canada’s largest collection of books, newspapers and magazines in alternate formats including audio, e-text, braille, and printbraille. Download books or receive home delivery by mail. Registration required.
Clicklaw – An Internet subject guide to authoritative legal resources in BC and Canada. Developed by the Legal Services Society of BC and now maintained by the BC Courthouse Library Society. No library card is required to access this resource on the Internet.
Consumer Reports – Complete Ratings and recommendations on appliances, cars & trucks, electronic gear, and much more. Reviews and comparisons of consumer products and services are based on reporting and results from Consumer Reports’ in-house testing laboratory and survey research center. The magazine accepts no advertising, pays for all the products it tests, and, as a not-for-profit organization, has no shareholders.
EBSCOhost periodicals – Search select indexed content from the following subject areas: Computer Science/Engineering, Earth/Environment, Education, History, Literature, Psychology/Sociology for citations. Video Tutorial [2:25 minutes]
Explora Primary Schools – A research interface for K-5. Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research. Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic to give students research ideas. Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research.
Gale Courses — Gale Courses offer patrons access to hundreds of instructor-led online courses covering everything from health and wellness to creative writing, computer programming, GED test preparation and much more. See “Getting Started” tutorial.
Gale Virtual Reference Library – The Gale Virtual Reference Library Easy to Use Travel Guide e-books (requires Adobe Flash) allow you to read up about countries you want to visit without leaving your chair.
Grant Connect (In-library use only) With Grant Connect you can research over 10,000 Canadian foundations, 550 corporate giving programs, more than 300 government grantors, 120 American foundations that make grants to Canadian organizations, as well as more than 200 other kinds of grant opportunities.
IndieFlix – Watch award-winning shorts, features, and documentaries from more than 50 countries. Streaming movies available on all Internet-enabled computers, tablets (including iPad and Android), smart phones through the Web browser, and on Roku and Xbox. (Now part of RB Digital)
Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
KnowBC Online Now available from home! – Includes the following resources:
- Encyclopedia of British Columbia – With more than 4,000 entries and 1,500 accompanying photographs, maps, charts and tables, as well as sound and video clips.
- Marine Life of the Pacific Northwest – A Photographic Encyclopedia of Invertebrates, Seaweeds and Selected Fishes.
- The Encyclopedia of Raincoast Place Names – A Complete Reference to Coastal British Columbia
- Far West – The Story of British Columbia
- Raincoast Chronicles 20 – Lilies and Fireweed: Frontier Women of British Columbia.
- Where Mountains Meet the Sea – A History of Coastal BC
Library To Go – Download and and read or listen to best selling and classic books 24/7 on your computer, phone, tablet, or music player almost anywhere in the world. It’s free, all you need is your library card.
Mango is an online language learning system teaching practical conversation skills for a wide variety of popular languages. With everyday dialog from native speakers, engaging interactive lessons, and a unique intuitive teaching style, Mango increases your ability to use, adapt and build on what you learn.
Medici.TV is the largest catalogue of classical music, opera, and dance videos. It includes: 3,500 musical works filmed from the 1940’s through to the present day ; 2,000 films including concerts, documentaries and master classes ; Over 200 new programs added each year ; Over 100 live events streamed every year from the world’s most prestigious venues. NEW!!
NNELS – National Network for Equitable Library Service (Restricted to patrons with print disability) – digital access to a collection of over 38,000 e-audio, e-text and e-braille titles. Please contact Sechelt Library for details and registration. Tutorials and instructions
Looking for a good novel? Want to find book reviews? Desperate to find other authors that are similar to your favourite? Check out NoveList, a database of fiction books and authors, recommended reading lists, book discussion ideas and book reviews for all ages. Video Tutorial [5 minutes]
Open Library – Open Library offers over 1,000,000 free ebook titles to read.
Points to the Past – Searchable primary source material: maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems, and more. For research, teaching and learning.
PressReader – Unlimited digital access to thousands of the world’s leading newspapers and magazines. Choose from full-version, current-day content in 60+ languages from more than 100 countries
RBdigital (formerly RBdigital, IndieFlix Zinio) – Convenient access to online magazines you can download for free and read on your computer, tablet, or smartphone; award-winning comedies, documentaries, drama, animation, shorts and classic TV; AND over 30,000 audioBooks titles. Download the RB Digital app to your tablet, smartphone, Kindle Fire or iPad. You can access the content directly on your computer browser and download ebooks and audiobooks onto your computer with the RB Digital Media Manager application. Create your account right in the app!
Small Business Accelerator – The Small Business Accelerator offers free online access to reliable business information and tools for secondary market research for BC businesses and entrepreneurs. This initiative is led by UBC Library’s Irving K. Barber Learning Centre (Library card not required)
TumbleBooks – an online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they’ll love. TumbleBooks are created by taking existing picture books, adding animation, sound, music and narration to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you.
Vehicle Safety and Inspection Standards Online (In-library use only) Current vehicle safety and inspection standards and related BC legislation.